Home » Uncategorized » Gender Roles

Gender Roles

I feel like this page is evolving… I haven’t had the need to post any releases lately (as in since… whenever the last time was that I posted one) but we’ll see where this goes!

So in one of my English classes, we read a play and have to do a context research assignment on the early 1900s. We all got to choose our topics and I chose “women.” Pretty huge, so I split it up into three different subtopics: Women’s roles, the view of women, and domestic violence.

Women’s roles in the early 1900s were what they still are now: Keeping the house, caring for children, and (contrary to today) staying at home (if the woman was single or if her husband was not making enough money).

The view of women was… I can’t even think of a word. Incompetent, to say the least. Men didn’t need women, women were seen to have simple minds and needed men!

Domestic violence, I’ve come to the conclusion, didn’t exist. If your husband hit you, he hit you.

Now, here’s my take on gender roles (women specifically), regardless of the year. Women should keep the house together and care for the children, naturally. But I mean she needs to like DO IT do it. When I am blessed with my man of God and a fabulous marriage, oh my goodness… It will be just… ah! Haha. When my husband comes home, there is going to be dinner (or lunch) waiting for him, always. When he wakes up in the morning, he will have breakfast ready, always, regardless of the time I have to be somewhere. The house will always be kept clean. So clean, dirt and dust will look at it and won’t even want to mess it up! A woman should always keep the house (and children, if there are any) together and make it a haven for her man.

I’ve been viewed as a lowly woman before, so I’m not sure how to take my own personal view of how I’d like my future husband to see me, or how any husband should see his wife for that matter. I know that he should respect the fact that she indeed is the weaker vessel, even if she does not want to admit it. He should care for her, remember that she is delicate, and treat her with complete delicacy. I will say, though it may rage a person or two, that when a woman gets out of line, she should be reminded of her position in the marriage. I can’t say what that reminder should be (simply because I do not know), but the woman should never try to be the man. It just doesn’t work that way.

Domestic violence. Hmm… I guess this goes into the woman being reminded of her position. But obviously, this is to an extreme… I don’t know. I mean, if you’ve read my older posts, you know that I’ve been abused but it seemed… necessary? I don’t know, I don’t want to sound crazy but it just seems like that’s how it is. Now, in NO way am I condoning this or saying that it is “essential” for marriage or to keep the woman in her place. Not at all. I’m just saying, that’s what I’m used to. I feel like sometimes it’s just inevitable. Maybe? I don’t know. Maybe one day I’ll see different.

So those are my opinions!🙂

Leave a Reply

