Home » Uncategorized » A Simple Prayer

A Simple Prayer

Dwelling on the lyrics of the song, “A Simple Prayer:”

“Make me an instrument of Your peace”
Remove everything in me that is not of You. All anger, hatred, jealousy, bitterness… Anything that stunts growth and prohibits peace from overflowing inside of me and flowing out of me. So that it will reach every person I come in contact with.

“I want to know what it’s like to follow You”
A sister said, “Being a Christian is not for wimps.” If I truly want to know what it’s like to follow God, I need to deny myself every second of everyday in every trial and in every situation of temptation. If I really want to know what it’s like to follow You, I will take up my own cross and suffer for the LORD, just as He has suffered for me. Then, as He saw righteousness, I will see righteousness.

“When men look at me, I want them to see the Light of the world inside”
I must, to the best of my own ability, walk in the GOODNESS of God, so that other people may see the Light… without knowing who I am or what I’ve done or where I’ve been. I must flee from all evil and all temptation and run directly to God and be empowered by His Word, inspired by His promise, and filled with His Spirit so that others may see His light shining on me and His light shining through me.

It’s a simple prayer, but it has so much meaning.

Leave a Reply

