Home » Uncategorized » To Be Loved

To Be Loved

Very often I find myself wanting to pray for God to send me “the one.” Every time, shortly after, I realize that no matter how much or how hard I pray, it’s all going to happen in God’s timing anyway. I could pray day after day, but if God doesn’t want “him” to come until next year, “he” won’t come until next year, and that’s the end of it.

But more than anything, all I want is for things to have played out differently. I wish my words and my actions and my thoughts were different. I wish I could rewind time and do certain things all over again. But don’t we all…?

We have to remember that we’re never the only lonely person in the world, even though it sometimes seems that way.

I try to remind myself that true love is only and can only be found in God. God is love. If we look to any person for it, we will inevitably become disappointed and perhaps even needy. We don’t want that.

If you want to find love, read the Gospel of John- John is all about love. Or read 1 Corinthians 13, the love chapter. You know, there is love everywhere and all around us and we fail to realize it all the time. Emmanuel is His name! “God with us.” If God is love then love is always with us no matter where we are, no matter where we go; high and low.

But we’re human. Sometimes we need to physically feel someone touching us and kissing us and holding us and loving us. We desire to hear the audible words, “I care about you,” “I’m never going to hurt/leave you,” “I want you,” and of course, “I love you.” I get it. It’s natural. We’re human. It’s okay to desire an earthly love. But we have to, have to, have to remind ourselves that God is love and God is with us: Emmanuel.

Leave a Reply

